Posted on

My Vacation Definition

According to dictionary.com, vacation va·ca·tion [vey-key-shuhn, vuh-] is defined as:
–noun
1. a period of suspension of work, study, or other activity,usually used for rest, recreation, or travel; recess orholiday:
Schoolchildren are on vacation now.
2. a part of the year, regularly set aside, when normalactivities of law courts, legislatures, etc., are suspended.
3. freedom or release from duty, business, or activity.
4. an act or instance of vacating.
–verb (used without object)
5. to take or have a vacation: to vacation in the Caribbean.
Before last Thursday, I defined vacation as a noun: a period of stress where I attempt to put my best effort to de-stress, relax, rest either traveling or just enjoying the freedom of not spending three hours of my day driving to work.  I place a great deal of stress on the word attempt, because I cannot remember when the last time I fully enjoyed a vacation post-college.  
A typical vacation for me is filled with fun activities, great food and lots of sleep.  I bet you reading this and wondering why I can’t fully enjoy fun, food and sleep.
For me it is all about breaking my pattern and not giving myself the slack to soak up the vacation for what it truly is in the moment.  I become preoccupied with what I’m not doing, stressing about the things I feel need to be done, and quite possibly not feeling like I deserve a vacation.
Last Thursday, after years of not fully enjoying a vacation I made a plan and a plan that I’m proud to say worked!  I gave myself time vacation goals; yes, vacation goals.  Goals that would allow me to sleep in, without sleeping in too late.  Goals that would allow me to have at least 15 minutes for me.  I was determined to make me a priority to do the things that I wanted to do, as well as enjoying the vacation with my husband on new and exciting adventures.
I believe I’ve turned a new leaf and cannot wait to go on another vacation!
Leave a Reply

