Posted on

Pinterest Perception

Late last year (2011), I discovered Pinterest.  I set up an account and never touched it again, until my friends started talking about it.  Talking about all of the amazing ideas, quotes, fabulous fashion, inspiration and motivation!!  If you don’t know what this site is all about, well let me share with you that is one incredible site!!  It allows people to pull, organize and share all the beautiful things they find on never-ending world-wide web and “pin” these things to boards they create.  AMAZING!!

But what is more amazing is when I discovered my Pinterest Perception.  What is this you ask??  Well, it is looking at something you’ve been working at for nearly your entire life and discover your perception all of a sudden change!  

Allow me to explain.  At the age of 12 is when I believe I began struggling with issues of my self-image.  It was in the sixth grade when a sixth grade hottie laughed and pointed at my legs telling me how fat they were.  It was in the sixth grade when I was probably the tallest kids in my class and was on the edge of hitting a triple digit weight of 100 pounds, while my peers were all 85-90 pounds.  At this age, as I’m not even a teenager, I had already developed a poor body image.  But what I most recently discovered is that was all my mis-perception.

Like birds of a feather flock together, most of my friends are active, physically fit and generally have many “likes” in common.  Pinterest is no exception.  You see, this is where I discovered my Pinterest Perception, which is the change is the way I see myself.  For nearly 17 years, I’ve measured and obsessed the weight on the scale.  I had allowed this number on the scale to define me as either normal or a failure.

Leave a Reply

