Posted on

Happiness is like a Butterfly

“Happiness is like a butterfly: the more you chase it, the more it will elude you, but if you turn your attention to other things, it will come and sit softly on your shoulder…”– Thoreau

Just like a beautiful butterfly, I have been chasing for way too many years.  Chasing after milestones, searching for those special moments, shooting for the moon and when I missed I also missed landing among the stars.  And  as I’m less than three months 30; I’m beginning to realize that I’m not as happy as I think I truly am or want to be.  All the “things” I thought would make me happy in life, hasn’t made me any happier of a person.  In reality, I think my pursuit of happiness, has actually been the opposite.

As all things I thought would bring me happiness like a beautiful butterfly, really cannot be found when searching; but can be found by learning what I can do to become my own beautiful butterfly.

As researchers have found that life circumstances are only a small part of happiness, because people are quickly to adapt to positive changes in life and have forgotten what they’ve always wanted…they feel the same as they did before and they start searching for something new; which then becomes an endless cycle repeating itself over and over again never leading to true happiness.

I see what researchers have found about happiness in my life and it is time to STOP this cycle and understand that happiness will never be found, it cannot be chased it cannot be a forced emotion, but instead it is something that comes within ME.

And I believe that soon I will find my happiness.

Leave a Reply

